As the cost of technological classroom aids continues to decrease, more and more teachers will likely utilize technology for assessment purposes. In several of my college courses, including English 2340 and Psychology 1101, my instructors required students to purchase clicker devices and then to use them to take quizzes. Although the technology was not perfect and several students experienced technical difficulties, I believe that the implementation of clickers was an overall good idea, for they eliminated paper waste, allowed for easy grading, and gave students experience with using an unfamiliar tool. The potential for assessing students with technology exists beyond clickers, however. Teachers may one day decide to upload their tests to the Internet so that students can bring their personal computers to class and take the exam online. More teachers may decide to utilize electronic portfolios in writing classes. All of these hypothesized means of assessment have issues and are likely years away from mass implementation in K-12 classrooms, but the general impact that technology may have on assessment in the future is nevertheless exciting.

If I were an English teacher at a K-12 institution, I would use technology on a daily basis to enhance my teaching. I would lecture on literature using PowerPoint so that my students would not have to frequently bear my sloping handwriting. When students had questions at night or on weekends, I would encourage them to let me know via email. Before reading a work of literature, I would ask students to research the work’s author online. I would also play audio versions of selected pieces of literature to accommodate auditory listeners. With this being said, I would also maintain an awareness of when not to use technology in the classroom. For example, I would not allow some students to use Kindles to read novels in class, as these students would have different page numbers from the rest of the students, causing unnecessary confusion. Technology is a great teaching resource, but it should never become a replacement for instruction.

