I do not think my opinion on integrating technology in the classroom has drastically changed over the course of the semester. I still believe the most lesson that one can learn about educational technology is that it should only be used when it can realistically improve student learning. Many teachers become enamored with specific tools because of their visual appeal or novelty value, but they must look past these distractions and focus on how the student will respond to the tool. In general, teachers should not pick a tool and try to adapt it for students. Instead, teachers should first identify a problem and then seek out a tool that appropriately solves that problem. Using this strategy, teachers can keep students in mind rather than technology.

As a result of taking EDIT 2000, I have become more open-minded to using technology in the classroom. During the mini-unit on interactive whiteboard (IWB) technology, I had somewhat of an epiphany, during which I finally understood the appeal of SMART Boards. I attended a small private school that could not afford to put a SMART Board in every classroom, so I had never spent time using one before this class. Because I lacked experience with IWBs, I had almost rejected them completely, telling myself that they were overpriced, buggy, and nonessential. After learning about them in EDIT, however, my disdain for them softened dramatically, and I now understand their broad appeal. This anecdote yields another important lesson: always evaluate the quality of a technological tool oneself instead of relying on the opinions of others.

